The Funky Baker Crocheted Hat

Standard

So I was bored today while waiting to pick up my daughter from the bustop so I srted fiddling around with some new crochet hooks. I frogged the houndstooth hat and picked up the biggest, fattest crochet hook I had and went to town on a pile of Lion’s Brand Wool-Ease in Claret. I created the most perfect slouchy hat ever. It’s warm enough for winter, it breathes really well, and it’s stylish. Not to mention It takes less than 1 skein of yarn (maybe 2/3) and about 1 hour. So here you are ladies and gentlemen. You’re welcome 😉

So grab your P or Q hook and some super-bulky yarn and Magic Ring it! (5 hdc)
R1: 2hdc in each of 5 st (10st)
R2: *1hdc in next st, 2hdc in next st* repeat 4x (15st)
R3: *1hdc in each of next 2 st, 2 hdc in next st* repeat 4x (20st)
R4: *1hdc in each of next 3 st, 2 hdc in next st* repeat 4x (25st)
R5-10: hdc evenly around (25st)
Make sure you’ve got the length you want and tie off, tucking in the tail.

Now here’s where I got all crazy. I personally don’t like the way that crochet ribbing looks, so I whipped out my size 11 circulars cast on 50 st (2 ribbing per 1 crochet) and did 8 rows of Clustered Ribbing (k2, p1) and then crocheted the 2 pieces together. If you’re not terribly handy with knitting, you can go ahead and do some ribbing with an I hook or a J hook.


So there we have it folks 🙂 Happy Hooking!

IMG_0017

IMG_0021

IMG_0035

About HooliganHooker

IThis is an introduction (or wake-up call) to the personal trials and triumphs of one hardcore hooker (crocheter) and a knitterbug in the great state of Massachusetts. I will be posting pics, patterns, and problems. It is my goal (and sincerest wish) to be able to help other hookers and knitterbugs overcome their hang-ups and persevere in the awesome crafts of crocheting and knitting. I am Shannon I am 26 I am a mother I am a sassy bitch I am a classy broad I love all thing supernatural I am in a constant struggle with myself and the world around me. I chose to begin knitting crocheting because it was the one thing that made sense to me in this incredibly chaotic world. It was therapy. It was something to hold on to and focus on when everything else was spinning out of control into chaos. So join me on this journey to create a sassy community of hookers and knitterbugs looking to make friends, make better crafts, and most importantly make a difference in someone’s life (even if it’s their own!)

Leave a comment